Who is eligible

Meeting the criteria

The Ministry of Health website outlines the eligibility criteria to receive disability supports and services.

In brief, a person may be able to receive a needs assessment from us if:  

  • they are below the age of 65 years
  • they live in the greater Auckland region, from Wellsford to Mercer
  • their disability does not improve even after treatment, surgery, rehabilitation or with the help of any equipment
  • they need lifelong support, and
  • they have a physical, intellectual, sensory disability, or Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD). They can have one or a combination of these disabilities. 

Still not sure if you qualify? Complete our application form and we'll find out for you.

You can also call our Access team on 0800 TAIKURA if you need help with your application or to find out more about Ministry of Health funded disability supports and services. 

Where else can you go 

If you don't meet the criteria, you have other options: 

  • You’re over 65 years old. Older people disability support is provided by district health boards (DHBs).
  • Personal health conditions or long-term chronic illness. Some health issues like diabetes, asthma or heart illness may affect a person's physical or sensory condition. However, support for these are provided by DHBs or private insurance. You can talk to your doctor about your options.
  • Mental health and addictions. For conditions like depression, bi-polar disorder, Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD), anxiety, schizophrenia and others, supports and services are provided by DHBs.  
  • Accident or injury. If your disability is caused by injury or accident, ACC can help
  • Your doctor can help you access DHB supports and services or make an ACC claim.
  • You live outside Auckland. We provide needs assessment and service coordination for people who live in Auckland. Find your nearest Needs Assessment and Service Coordination (NASC) service.